The Roger Rees Awards for Excellence in Student Performance recognizes distinction in student performance and outstanding achievement in high school musical theater productions in the Greater New York metro area schools.  Students performing in qualified roles are nominated and reviewed by theater professionals and selected for participation in the Roger Rees Awards Show.  Nominees are invited to participate in a 2-day enrichment event which includes coaching workshops on day one and talent showcase rehearsals on day two, immediately followed by the Roger Rees Awards Show. 

The Roger Rees Awards (previously the Gershwin Awards) has served as an effective platform for talented young artists to further their career goals.  Many past participants are working professionally in performing arts or related creative industries.  The winners of the Roger Rees Awards go on to represent the Greater New York metro area at the National High School Musical Theatre Awards®, commonly referred to as The Jimmy® Awards, presented by The Broadway League Foundation. 

The Roger Rees Awards boasts two national award winners – 2015 Best Actress, Maria Louissaint (Beacon High School, Manhattan) who is now in the national touring cast of Beautiful and 2018 Best Actor, Andrew Barth Feldman (Lawrence Woodmere Academy, Long Island) who will made his Broadway debut as Evan Hansen in Dear Evan Hansen.